And A Gun Dog

Fiskeørn got onto the water well before we left for Africa. A much newer development was Nyrkki. I picked him up from the trainer on Monday the 14th. He’s pretty much all done. I got some harrowing texts while in Africa about the grueling 6 weeks he spent on force fetch. My poor trainer- Nyrkki is apparently a highly stubborn guy, who also cannot be allowed to get away with anything. The very evening I picked him up, Trainer had me doing pile work and basic refreshers with him, and he was refusing to do it. He even bit me twice when having pressure applied from his collar. However, pile work in the back yard went just fine. I’ll be meeting with Trainer when I can here before duck season starts. I have an open invitation in his boat on the Mississippi or Wisconsin rivers, since Matt’s gone for the best part of the season. And Trainer is also a guide.

Midway through training in July at a boat launch on the WI River.

Midway through training in July at a boat launch on the WI River.

Backyard pile work, and he got to do it with a dead bird.

Backyard pile work, and he got to do it with a dead bird.

I am considering studding him out, and Trainer thinks this is a great idea, with his pedigree. He recommends I find a more biddable, docile dog to breed him to, however. But now grouse, pheasant, and duck hunting should be much easier.

3 thoughts on “And A Gun Dog

    • We’re still kicking, but last year and early this year have really gotten away from us. Matt was gone for two months, I was still working overtime + my 3 classes. By the time Matt got back and rifle season happened, I had a 4000 word German capstone thesis and 2 other papers to churn out, finals, graduation and a job hunt to undertake. And then Matt changed jobs, we house hunted, and moved on a short time frame. We’re settled now and improving the house, but never even went ice fishing. We’ll see where we are when fishing season starts back up. We’re out in an old farmhouse now- there’s hope of chickens and sheep!

What do you think?

