Wild Food: Blackberry Wine Again

So, Tuesday evening I finally bottled that wine from back last Summer. This year, I went and put it in actual wine bottles instead of swing top beer bottles

Fill the bottles. My siphon finally cracked, so I had to filter the wine through funnels

Fill the bottles. My siphon finally cracked, so I had to filter the wine through funnels

Add toasted apple wood chips.

Add toasted apple wood chips.

The toasted chips that did not fit through the necks of the bottles.

The toasted chips that did not fit through the necks of the bottles.

Steam the corks.

Steam the corks.

Place in the corker

Place in the corker

Cork bottles, store on their sides in a dark, cool place.

Cork bottles, store on their sides in a dark, cool place.

More empties to fill later.

More empties to fill later.

This stuff, I’m aging over toasted apple wood chips. Maybe this year’s berries will be aged properly in the secondary ferment, perhaps over oak or something.

I opted to use regular wine bottles this time. Since I’m a hopeless miser and refuse to buy wine bottles from the brew shop, I salvaged these from work. A couple came out of the recycling bin behind the bar (they are sanitized), the rest I stashed near my purse whenever they emptied. There’s an eclectic mix there- mostly Cabernet Sauvignon and Chardonnay bottles, but there are also a couple Korbel brandy bottles, one Jameson bottle, and an Obstler Schnapps bottle (the swingtop). I also have a couple Riesling bottles. I just remove the collar foil and soak them in hot water to remove the labels. Bam, free wine bottles. And they’re getting another use. Reduce, reuse, recycle, etc.

8 thoughts on “Wild Food: Blackberry Wine Again

  1. Amber, I’ve had problems with final results in the beginning because i didn’t know not to use chlorinated tap water. I’m hoping you’re on a real nice ground water well. Great share. I really enjoyed it. Thanks.

    • As we live in town, I use tap water. I’m not sure if Madison uses less chlorine (possible), but I have little trouble getting yeast to work in beer, wine, or bread. If you have trouble with it, and don’t have bottled water on hand, you can leave tap water out overnight to let some of the chlorine evaporate out.

    • Hey, I’m not judging you. I was dribbling wine from the gallon jug all over. I licked my hands. And the corking was easier than I thought. You steam the corks to kind of loosen them up. Otherwise, they’re very rigid, and probably wouldn’t go into the neck of the bottle very easily. You can get allll different sizes of corks- bigger and longer ones from longer aging. I went with standard size, since it will be aging about 9-10 months. If I were to do more bottles than this, I would want one of the nicer corkers, though. Soon we’ll be making mead 🙂

  2. Wine is on my list for this summer. I’m hoping for a good blackberry year. I’m planting five wine grapes in the spring. Wine seems to be my theme for 2015!

    • It may not be the same, but many brewing stores sell fruit concentrates, which you dilute out to ferment. If you want to test wine making out, that could be a good option. My local place is here, I love them: http://www.brewandgrow.com I know wine grapes take a year or two to establish, so if you get impatient, you can make wine with just about anything- my grandpa’s neighbor when he was living down in Kentucky made banana wine. There’s also cherry, blueberry, and cranberry. I personally wish I could pick wild blueberries. Blueberry wine is awesome. So is strawberry, if you have those in your garden.

What do you think?

