In my groggy haze this morning, I forgot to set up a Monday post. Long story short, we didn’t even see any teal during the early season, except for maybe one group at some distance. Lots of geese, and we even got two to circle, but none close enough to shoot. 

GE GE

We did some first-hand research of a nearby hunting area that was new to us. It’s a winding little creeklet north of town that would be excellent for jump shooting in, even if our canoe is nearly too big for it. We’re betting that once hunting pressure cranks up a bit into the season, they’ll go there.

The Ditchboat is also nearly painted. Matt’s really put his nose to the grindstone on it.

GE GE

All that’s left to paint is part of the bottom of the hull, and the roof where the shed touches it.

As I type this, I have all of Matt’s hunting gear in the dryer. It’s all been washed in scent-free detergent. He’s leaving to start his bear hunt this week. The hunt runs Wednesday to Wednesday.  The forecast for his location, and all of Wisconsin in general, is a steep drop in temperature beginning Wednesday night- lows in the 30s, even as far south as Madison. I’ve got all his thick layers cleaned.

Archery season also begins this Saturday. There’s a very good chance I’ll be going out for the opener by myself. I have a few spots in mind, but haven’t settled on one yet. I’ll be keeping an eye on the weather, as well as making the call based on how many other hunters I see out there this time.

GE

 

What do you think?

