Wild Booze II: Wine and Brandy

Half the reason I pick so very many berries is that I love blackberry wine. I don’t even bother with preserves- I can get excellent preserves at the Dane County Farmer’s Market with far less muss and fuss. What’s infinitely more difficult to find is blackberry wine. However, the recipe I used last year  is no more. So, I did some searching, and found another. This one intrigued me with the additional recipe for blackberry whisky. So I made both, although I blended last year’s technique with this recipe’s amounts. I was worried how the boiling water would affect the flavor of the berries.

Ten pounds of berries in one large bowl.

Ten pounds of berries in one large bowl.

Sanitizing

Sanitizing

A different kind of yeast for a sweeter wine

A different kind of yeast for a sweeter wine

Brown and white sugar

Brown and white sugar

I was also low on whisky, so this is more of a blended brandy, with a dash of Fireball and Jameson. Mostly Korbel.

I was also low on whisky, so this is more of a blended brandy, with a dash of Fireball and Jameson. Mostly Korbel.

Everything together

Everything together

Shaken vigorously

Shaken vigorously

Brown sugar syrup this time around, just for fun.

Brown sugar syrup this time around, just for fun.

Taking specific gravity so I know the alcohol %

Taking specific gravity so I know the alcohol %

The brandy will sit for up to a year, if I can wait that long. It’s on top of the fridge, so I hopefully forget about it, like everything else up there. The wine pulp will sit for a week or two before I strain it off into a carboy for secondary fermentation. It’s nowhere near as hot this year as it was last summer- we’re actually supposed to drop from our current high of 82 (as I write on Sunday) to the 70s all week. I assume that will affect fermentation quite a bit.

3 thoughts on “Wild Booze II: Wine and Brandy

  1. I’ve brewed a lot of beers. Only one fruit wine. Not from wild fruits. Sounds good. We are waiting for the next adventure.

    • For the brandy, I think the worst it would do is discolor it. I’m keeping an eye on it and if it looks wonky, I’ll move it into our liquor cabinet.

What do you think?

