It’s Berry Season Again

It definitely is! I was outside at work, and noticed ripe berries on one of the holes on the back nine of the course. So, on my afternoon off on Wednesday last week, I headed out to do the front fields before work. Luckily no mowers this year, and there was a bit of wind. I treated my clothes with permethrin, and sprayed my skin with 98% DEET, and was fairly skeeter-free.

SAMSUNG SAMSUNG

Nicely mown field

Nicely mown field

Bounty of berries

Bounty of berries

Much like last year, the front fields yielded about two pounds of berries. Nothing to sneeze at. But I also made it out Saturday afternoon. Saturday was a much muggier, hotter, more humid day. There was also no wind. The mosquitoes did not give two shakes that I was basically coated in poison. They were awful.

My dog came along. Here he is, chilling while I pick.

My dog came along. Here he is, chilling while I pick.

Ripe gooseberries. Not something you see very often.

Ripe gooseberries. Not something you see very often.

My pants after having my berry sack bump into them all afternoon.

My pants after having my berry sack bump into them all afternoon.

Dog in a tractor tire rut

Dog in a tractor tire rut

In a deep rut puddle

In a deep rut puddle

The back field yielded about 7 1/2 pounds of berries. So I have about ten pounds of them. And that was with maybe a quarter of the berries ripe. I could go back sometimes this week and get about as many berries, if I was willing to tolerate mosquitos some more.

5 thoughts on “It’s Berry Season Again

  1. Fantastic, we have been taking about 2 1/2 pounds each of strawberries, black currents and red currents a day from our garden, a lot we eat and freeze the rest. I love berry season, our blackberries have a couple of more weeks before they are good.

What do you think?

