Weeknight Solo Fishing

It turns out a good way to get stared at is to drag your kayak briefly through part of a park before launching it into a lake, and then be a girl fishing by yourself. Wednesday I was called off at work. The day started cool and cloudy, and eventually a small thunderstorm cell ripped through part of town, dropping hail. After the thunderstorm passed, I packed up the kayak and my gear, and headed to Lake Wingra for some panfish.

Looking north toward my launch point from across the lake

Looking north toward my launch point from across the lake

Looking west toward part of the UW Arboretum

Looking west toward part of the UW Arboretum

Getting there from my side of town is always fun, with the oddball streets and 5-way + intersections on the isthmus, but we’d fished here before with good results. On top of that, this lake is also bordered by Madison’s small zoo. From my fishing spots, I could hear a rooster crowing and the lions roaring. I wasn’t necessarily looking for lunkers- I just wanted to catch something. And did I ever accomplish that.

My first bass, a 12.5 incher, within 5 minutes of my first anchoring.

My first bass, a 12.5 incher, within 5 minutes of my first anchoring.

A nice 6 inch bluegill

A nice 6 inch bluegill

And another

And another

And another

And another

My second bass

My second bass

My thumb all chewed up

My thumb all chewed up

 

All in all, I would catch 15 bluegill and lose easily another ten, which would have made for a day limit for one person. I caught a third bass, but didn’t get a picture. None of the bass were big enough to keep. I could have held on to some of the bluegills, but I didn’t want to fillet little 6 inch fish, and literally all of the ones I got in the kayak were 6 inches. I also forgot a stringer or basket for them.

Even starting my fishing trip well before dusk, the fish where biting extremely well. I made it around the lake in about three and a half hours, and then got everything back in the car and headed home.

 

5 thoughts on “Weeknight Solo Fishing

  1. It’s great that you have all that water so near. A lot of our rivers were polluted years ago. We are allowed one portion (Meal) per month. No thanks. So I go only to paddle. But next we head to Northern NY, Almost to the St. Lawrence River to spend a week at our camp. Fishing! Yay!

    Really enjoy the blog about y’alls doings.

    My best Tex Talk ever!

    • We have the same problem up here. The meals allotted depend on the fish. Madison’s lake’s biggest problems are storm runoff these days. But there was heavy metal pollution at one point. However, Madison being the hippie heaven it is, they’re working really hard on curtailing that.

  2. My wife and are blessed to own a second summer home as I said way north. It’s a 4 hour drive one way. We have the trek almost every weekend for almost 11 years. Black lake in NY is beautiful. But the greatest part is that it is one of only a few lakes where there is no consumption limit. We have so many species. Google it if you like. Have a great holiday weekend.

  3. Being a female fishing by herself is always a good way to get stared at. I don’t know why people think it’s strange. Looks like a great fishing trip!

What do you think?

