It All Comes Down to Enough Time and the Right Weather

I’m writing this post after badgering 6 other people to get their portions of a group assignment in to me so I could cobble the bits together into a cohesive whole. And after writing my portion, plus a 4 page paper.

Matt and his buddy Bill got out a few times for bowfishing during the week (albeit more sober). Bill managed to shoot some gar, which we almost never see. And certainly not at this size.

Bill with his biggest longnose gar

Bill with his biggest longnose gar

They got into a few more gar and carp on Friday night while I was at work. Thunderstorms on Saturday afternoon kept me from fishing like I’d hoped to do while Matt was at the radio station’s golf outing. Instead, I spent Saturday afternoon at the Dane County Farmer’s Market. Not wild by any stretch, but still a fun day.

Bagpiper

Bagpiper

Excellent doughnuts

Excellent doughnuts

Cows on the concourse

Cows on the concourse

Calf

Calf

Pretty Jersey cow

Pretty Jersey cow

My haul.

My haul.

The meats you see are a smoked rainbow trout and a whole butchered rabbit. Domestic, of course. I cooked it for dinner Saturday night. If we ever do take up rabbit hunting, I plan to not cook it on the grill. Even a domestic bunny was kind of tough cooked over the flames. Braising it is.

Only one more week of this class.

One thought on “It All Comes Down to Enough Time and the Right Weather

  1. Oh, Braising is the best for wild rabbits, pheasant and maybe wood chuck. I have had the pleasure of the first two from my Grandmothers ability. I used to hunt rabbits and pheasants a lot. My wife of 37 years is NOT a wild game meat girl. LOL. My parents claim that when they were first married and owned a small farm, they ate wood chuck, racoon and wild pigeons a lot. Good article thanks

What do you think?

