Springtime Slump

Things are a bit slow around these parts lately. I never did get out the last two days of my turkey season, work had me come in. I’m debating getting a leftover tag for mid-May, if there are any. But that will be a break period between one semester and an accelerated summer course I’m taking, and work should be getting nuts about then. Matt didn’t head up north this past weekend since they still have snow and ice up there. He has a leftover tag for down here for the second-to-last season.

I39 Southbound. Wind turbines at Paw Paw.

I39 Southbound. Wind turbines at Paw Paw.

SAMSUNG

I spent the weekend back home visiting my family. The weather was much warmer and my nephew is getting huge. My invitation to hunt down in Illinois was renewed, and I got my first sunburn of the year.

Besides that, our fishing season opens back up this coming weekend. We have a wedding to attend Saturday evening, but I’m working on Matt to head out Saturday morning to fish, and probably Sunday as well. We’re a little wary to take the poor old jon boat out. The transom has begun to sort of fall off, and it leaks. Matt’s got his eye on a new G3 boat.

Speaking of boats, Matt cut out and glued together the transom for the big boat. We had to special order marine-grade plywood at our local Home Depot. It’s two pieces of 3/4 inch plywood glued together with Liquid Nails.

The Liquid Nails had a 7-day cure time, so we'll use something else to glue anything else on the boat.

The Liquid Nails had a 7-day cure time, so we’ll use something else to glue anything else on the boat.

GE

 

And then there’s not much else. The outlook for the week is chill and rainy. 40’s and rain almost every single day. I’m sort of glad I soaked up too much of that 70 degree sun on Saturday.

One thought on “Springtime Slump

  1. You two are awesome and at your ages are on the start of a great adventure together. I have built two cedar stripper boats. Both were fun and taught me a lot. One tip when getting to your epoxy, watch the ambient temperatures. I’ve worked in too hot and humid and too cold and dry. Bad things happen.

    Will be looking for you on Twitter
    @Kayakfishingfvr
    Terry

What do you think?

