Wild Food: Barbecued Venison Ribs

I haven’t written a post in over a week. With most of the seasons we’re interested in closed, and weather that’s making getting out on the ice to at least chase panfish seem iffy, we’ve spent the last weekend or two mostly relaxing and starting to get the house in order.

Case in point- I spent Saturday scooping all the dog poo out of the back yard (two hours and 5 garbage bags. yikes), and then Tuesday afternoon cleaning up the front yard and porch. Random litter, sticks, sweeping, and everything else I could manage with the ground being pretty frozen still. With a wedding in Minnesota to attend this weekend, I don’t really know how much else we’ll get up to.

I set out a side of venison ribs Tuesday afternoon for dinner. Believe it or not, we’re getting down to the end of our venison. There’s a few steaks left, two football roasts, and two more packages of ribs, in addition to some packages of bones to make into stock. I’ll have to start stretching the venison with store bought chicken, pork, and maybe even beef.

The ribs I intended to grill. I figured they’d be tough, though, so I cooked them in foil in the oven for a few hours first. I made a short marinade inspired by a recipe for Korean beef short ribs. They were only in that for about 30 minutes before I sauced them with some altered barbecue sauce (Ray’s with some “Saipan Sizzle” nonsense Matt had lying around, some ginger, and sesame seeds). They cooked for a good long time in there until I had coals in the grill (2-3 hours), then another hour in the packet on the grill, and then I sauced them some more, and let them char a bit over the coals.

In the end, they were pretty tasty. But the next incarnations of deer ribs, I will be sure to trim every bit of fat off- it definitely has an off flavor, even in small amounts. I’ll also wrap it in some bacon ends before cooking. But it did look pretty impressive on my plate. These were from the smaller, younger doe so they were still pretty small. The ones from the bigger doe will be larger and meatier.

Verdict: Barbecued deer ribs will make you feel like a cavewoman (or man).

4 thoughts on “Wild Food: Barbecued Venison Ribs

    • Once the ribs were thawed, they sat in the marinade for about 30 minutes while my oven heated. Then I cooked them in the foilf for about 2 1/2 or 3 hours, then another 45 minutes to an hour on the grill in the packet, and then 5 or 10 minutes charring over the coals. 4 or 5 hours all together. But my job is seasonal, so I’m not doing much beyond working out and going to school right now, and I had the time.

  1. My wife (jeremiahs mom) makes a great cashew turkey. Were having a big fry Friday evening. She also makes a great venison pot roast cooked with onion soup mix n sour cream. Of course she does the back straps, taters, and homemade sourdough rolls. That pretty much the extent of her wild game skills – enough to keep 5 kids fed over 25 years. Looks like you have some pretty exotic talents with the wild game. Florida deer are so skinny the hardly have any meat on their ribs! Thanks for sharing!

    • Cashew turkey sounds interesting! I’ve been working in restaurants since I was 17 (ten years, sheesh), and I’ve picked up a few things here and there. I also had a phase a few years ago where I taught myself to do all kinds of cooking-related things. The internet is a handy tool 🙂

What do you think?

