Wild Food: Venison Steak and Mushrooms, and Nothing Else to Report.

With Matt and I both holding down jobs, I guess it has to happen occasionally. We had a weekend where we didn’t do any outdoors activities, and we certainly missed the big Fox Lake Fisheree. Matt’s office missed their mission for the month- they were short one female candidate. So, they worked the weekend trying to make up the shortage. When Matt was home, we at least got some stuff around the house done. This ongoing flooring project is now much closer to done, and I replaced some ratty old curtains. I also placed my first order with a seed catalog for my garden this summer, rather than just picking up whatever Burpee seeds happen to be at Menards and Home Depot. I got a lot of interesting rare and heirloom varietals of garden staples, and I’m excited to see them. We did make it out for Madison’s Winterfest, which was honestly not all that impressive. A lot of activities for the kiddos, and the state championships for middle and high school cross country ski teams, but beyond that, most people down on the square were inside the cafes and bars.

I did get around to cooking dinner on Saturday night. The last time I was at the store, I finally picked up a package of dehydrated “forest blend” mushrooms. I reconstituted some of them in a mix of milk, warm water, and salt. I sauteed these and served them over a venison steak. It was pretty damn good, and it also strengthens my resolve to actually get out morel hunting this spring.

GE

A bit more done than I normally like, but I got distracted by the sauteeing mushrooms.

A bit more done than I normally like, but I got distracted by the sauteeing mushrooms.

Mix of porcini, wood ear, oyster, bolere, and shiitake. This company is based in Milwaukee.

Mix of porcini, wood ear, oyster, bolere, and shiitake. This company is based in Milwaukee.

I have no idea when we’ll be getting out next. Hopefully this weekend, but we never know. Maybe I’ll push to head out on Lake Michigan for some lake trout, since we only have until March 15th.

5 thoughts on “Wild Food: Venison Steak and Mushrooms, and Nothing Else to Report.

    • Reconstituted mushrooms can have kind of a weird texture, but they were otherwise very good. My dad used to pick pounds upon pounds of morels, and then dehydrate them. We tried to use them in moisture-heavy recipes- soups, sauteed, or battered and fried. And the brand I bought has a website. I think they’re kind of new, as I’ve only seen them at my grocery store for the last month or so. Looks like they’ll ship, though!

    • I used Baker’s Creek’s Rare Seeds catalog.Some of the old handed-down varieties there were fascinating. I managed to pare down my huge wishlist to something that would be more likely to fit in my garden.

What do you think?

