Nothing like “Duck Dynasty”: My life as a female hunter – Salon.com

Nothing like “Duck Dynasty”: My life as a female hunter – Salon.com

This is just a wonderful read. I’m still a white lady, so the intersection for race is missing for me. But a lot of what she wrote about the surprise of those unacquainted with the sport at its diversity, the consternation of vegetarians and vegans,  as well as criticism from fellow liberals is pretty on-point. 

She also manages to hit on the point of contention I’d been feeling around many of the more popular female hunters, like Tiffany Lakosky and especially Georgia Pellegrini. I’m happy that they are able to make a living doing what they love. However, many people out there have blogs and presences dedicated to the idea that this type of hunting is out of reach for many of us, financially speaking. The added layer for me is the eye candy factor- I will never look that great at 4:30AM, and that’s OK because I don’t want to wake up at 3 to spend an hour in makeup. On the one hand, I’m really happy that these other women have been making the sport more popular among the female demographic, not to mention popularizing and manufacturing hunting gear cut for women. On the other hand, it’s just another unattainable standard. There’s a lot of writing out there on this kind of thing in the beauty industry and society at large, but I would be lying if I said I wasn’t disappointed that this polished expectation had crept into the hunting industry. Mixed feelings feminist is conflicted.

6 thoughts on “Nothing like “Duck Dynasty”: My life as a female hunter – Salon.com

  1. Unfortunately or maybe fortunately on some accounts, I do not get to watch as many hunting shows. I do see pictures in Facebook and the whole idea of idea of even putting makeup on would have my husband wondering what the heck I’m doing if I so choosed to. Course I would end up stabbing myself in the eye that early know the morning trying to put some on. I’m there to help put food on the table and that’s fine by me. It would be cool to go Moose or Elk hunting one of these days though.

    • I’ve debated putting on makeup before morning hunts, in case I have my picture taken. Part of that is my own deal, naturally. I know TV will always be way different than real life, but that’s why I like reading articles like this one. And I would love to go moose or elk hunting. My dream is bighorn sheep. And saving up for it is a huge undertaking- we’re hoping to go this fall to Idaho, but haven’t made any concrete plans yet. If I only had a small office of people setting this up for me. Or hunting ranches throwing opportunities at me!

  2. Interesting article and like you I can relate to most aspects minus the race issue and her apparent food allergies.

    I grew up in California where meat came from saran wrap and everyone is blond, big boobed, and rail thin (I fall just in the blond category – and its natural, too). So when I moved up to Alaska and picked up hunting, it was a bit of a shock to my California friends who thought I wasn’t girly enough to begin with. And to top that all off, TV shows these pretty perfect women hunting with not a drop of dirt or blood on them. Honestly, when I’m about to drag a bear off a mountain the last thing I need to worry about is makeup (the first is larger bears). And don’t even get me started on vegetarians or vegans.

    The one thing I love about Alaska is it still has the frontier mentality mentioned in the end of the article about women hunting. Bixler’s grandmother is 83 years old and can still hit a grouse with a .22 right through the eye. She has a great moose mount on her wall from another lady who just passed her 100 birthday. And its not uncommon to meet other women carrying firearms or bows out on the trail (if, of course, you see other people on the trail). Of course, there are still a few who believe it is a sport left to the boys.

    We are all out there and I’m happy to see companies are starting to market towards women. It’s just a matter of time before the media catches up to the real women hunters!

    • One of my most treasured pictures of my gramma is of her at shooting practice, shooting walnuts out of trees with a 12ga, and the story about her shooting the feral barn cats for tearing into the groceries she’d just bought cracks me up every time. My great-granny hunted rabbit and squirrel for Sunday dinner. Women like us have always been here, but I get irate that they portray it wrong on tv. I’m a bit of a stickler for accuracy, but that’s asking a lot with TV shows.

What do you think?

