A Chilly January Fishing Weekend.

Another weekend fishing is on the books. There isn’t a whole bunch to report. The Fisheree was fun but uneventful- fishing was slow for us, with just three fish between Matt and I. M’s family was out, and they got quite a few throughout the day, but nobody else’s tipups were taking off. Just as I was heading toward my lines to bring them in, I got a flag and pulled up my first northern, though. We had a good time anyway.

After a slow Fisheree, we decided to head out Sunday as well. We went out for trout to one of my favorite places- Devil’s Lake. So far, I’d only been hiking here, never fishing. But it’s a gorgeous park. We had one fish here- a 13 1/2 inch largemouth early in the afternoon. We marked a lot of fish, but nothing went for our bait. No trout, either. Some pretty picture opportunities, though.

The head of the east bluff.

The head of the east bluff.

Bright and sunny.

Bright and sunny.

One end of the east bluff from the top of the snow

One end of the east bluff from the top of the snow

GE

The west bluff sloping to the lake

The west bluff sloping to the lake

A visitor's center

A visitor’s center

My bass. I almost lost it- Matt valiantly and quickly reached into the icehole to catch it when it came off the hook.

My bass. I almost lost it- Matt valiantly and quickly reached into the icehole to catch it when it came off the hook.

Snow drifting over the tracks.

Snow drifting over the tracks.

South shore of the lake

South shore of the lake

Our truck and shanty.

Our truck and shanty.

GE GE

3 thoughts on “A Chilly January Fishing Weekend.

  1. Pingback: Rubber Backing and Carpet Glue | Hunt/Fish/Play

What do you think?

