Wild Food Gets a Little Humble.

After the blitz of adventurous crappie cooking and posts last week, I’m really sort of groping for something this week, food wise. I cooked dinner Monday and Tuesday night, and yeah, they were both from wild animals. But I didn’t follow any fancy recipes or anything. I just needed to get some good, simple food on the table. I took pictures anyway.

Monday night was foil-packet baked whole panfish.

Monday night was foil-packet baked whole panfish. These were some of the ones was caught up north in August

They were a mix of bluegill, perch, and crappie. Baked in butter with salt, pepper, and limes.

They were a mix of bluegill, perch, and crappie. Baked in butter with salt, pepper, and limes.

Tuesday night was venison steaks with a light Parmesan crust.

Tuesday night was venison steaks with a light Parmesan crust.

Matt said he was tired of venison, and just wanted macaroni. So I made him macaroni and now I have leftover steak for lunch today.

Matt said he was tired of venison, and just wanted macaroni. So I made him macaroni and now I have leftover steak for lunch today.

7 thoughts on “Wild Food Gets a Little Humble.

    • It really can. I’ve been trying to get a lot done over the last few days, and I realized how often I forgot that dinner doesn’t have to be super complicated and time consuming.

  1. OHHH, OHHHH, OHHHH! I just prepared a backstrap out at the hunting camp. With the leftovers, I cooked up some tortillas, caramelized onions, sliced avocados, and the very thinly sliced, rare backstrap. We decided that it’s better to eat the meat at room-temperature than to overcook it. It was delicious. Served it up with a big pot o’ beans.

What do you think?

