Snacks!

I made a run to Farm and Fleet today for toe and body warmers this afternoon, after waking up to snow. We’re going to be still hunting tomorrow, and local meterologists have dropped tomorrow’s high down to 22. We’ll be getting out before dawn and sitting all day, so it’ll be damn chilly, especially still hunting.

So, I’m an epic snacker, and on top of that I just eat quite a bit throughout the day in general. Matt even said he’d want snacks so I put together some bags of snacks that will crinkle less than wrappers or something would. Farm and Fleet was utterly bananas today, so while I was milling around, waiting for the lines to maybe go down, I picked up a couple bags of their snacky/candy things.

I also added some half-eaten bags of other salty snacks- like the freeze dried edamame and salted peas you see.

I also added some half-eaten bags of other salty snacks- like the freeze dried edamame and salted peas you see.

Sportsman's mix, some other mixed nuts, salted peas, edamame, caramel nut clusters, and peppermint pretzels.

Sportsman’s mix, some other mixed nuts, salted peas, edamame, caramel nut clusters, and peppermint pretzels.

Probably not entirely healthy, no. And quite salty. So I’ve also already filled water bottles. We’ll be picking up hot chocolate on the way over in the morning. I also washed and folded all the hunting clothes today, and hunted down all the blaze pieces and backtag holders. All of that stuff in together in one spot so we can grab and go in the morning. Since I work tonight, Matt will get to do some prepping of his own, but at least I got some provisioning out of the way. Being cold, hungry, and in a caloric deficit is not something I’m OK with. Hopefully these hold me for the day. Or we get deer early in the day and drag the suckers out to head home.

8 thoughts on “Snacks!

    • Thanks! The only good part of gun season is they’re all running around in the daytime. Hopefully I’ll see something, and see it early, so we can get home and get warm.

    • I was! However, I was using a muzzle loader, since the area we hunt in this part of the state is shotgun equivalent only, and muzzle loader counts in that. I wanted to be able to get some distance if I needed to. I had a great show on a big-bodied, old 4 pt. 15 yards. Somehow the sabot and charges fell out of my gun. I lined up my shot, and all that happened was something like a champagne popper. The deer didn’t even run away. We have no idea how it happened. I wish I’d just brought my shotgun. I could’ve gotten out of the cold much sooner.

What do you think?

