Hunting: Now With More Tornado Warnings!

We made it back from La Crosse on Saturday afternoon just in time to not see a damn thing. This weekend was a rainy mess. It wasn’t especially chilly until Sunday evening. Saturday we both got soaked through and neither of us saw anything. In spite of the rain, there were two other cars in the parking area.

Sunday, the temperature dropped about 20 degrees over the afternoon. My hunting gear also didn’t dry overnight, so heading out late Sunday morning to hunt the gap between storms, I had a head start on my soaking. We waited out a particularly bad downpour in the truck, and then headed out. I called it for myself around 3pm in some rain, and ended up waiting in the truck for Matt until around 5. I headed back up the road to meet him at our usual spot, and saw just one deer, well past shooting light, heading up the field towards him. He never saw it though, and we made it back to the truck in 30mph wind gusts.

We had some tornado warnings up here in Wisconsin, however the storms hit worst down in Illinois. Some funnel clouds were sighted near home, but they missed my town (this time- three years ago they were hit very badly). Washington and the Pekin area, 60 miles to the southwest, were hit. A friend of mine from home found a piece of a Washington municipal sign in his back yard. Washington, apparently, was flattened. The storms also crossed over into Indiana. Hopefully those places can recover quickly.

Rifle season for us starts Saturday. There’s no hunting at all the day before (Friday). I’m hoping to make it out maybe Wednesday or Thursday night for one last bit of bowhunting until after gun and muzzleloader.  Saturday and Sunday will be the days to really get deer. After that, pretty much everything lays low until the season ends. We’re heading up north for Thanksgiving and the last weekend of rifle season. If there’s a lot of Matt’s cousins and family hunting at the cabin, we plan to hunt his grandfather’s back pasture. Gun season is the time we really count on to bring home deer. Hopefully we get some.

 

3 thoughts on “Hunting: Now With More Tornado Warnings!

  1. I live in Pekin tornado just missed my home and my familys home. 150 homes destroyed in Pekin Il and Washington Il is utter destruction. We have been without power since storm hit and probably will be for days. Thank God we are safe! Prayers for our area is greatly needed.

    • I’m glad your family is OK! But I am so sorry to hear about your neighbors. I grew up in Streator, and they were hit in the summer 2 or 3 years ago by a bad one. I also remember Utica, a ways north of us, being wiped out a few years before that. I’ve seen my fair share of funnel clouds, and they are truly terrifying. I know people back home are mobilizing to do what they can to help. I hope the recovery and rebuilding process is speedy and thorough for your area, and I hope everyone heals and is well as soon as possible. This transplanted Illinois girl is pulling for everyone.

What do you think?

