Wild Food: Roasted Red Pepper, Roasted Garlic Tomato Sauce With Venison

So, we’re pretty much out of venison from last year, right? I mean, there’s stew meat, but I made a complicated soup for dinner on Saturday, and was not in a stew mood. Maybe next week. However. We do have a whole bunch of ground venison from a previous year. This stuff was from the season just prior to when I moved to Wisconsin. It was extremely well packed, and is still in pretty alright shape, especially for recipes like this. ” This” being venison spaghetti, that is.

Roasting pepper and garlic cloves in the toaster oven- it heats up to temperature so much faster.

Roasting pepper and garlic cloves in the toaster oven- it heats up to temperature so much faster.

I ended up taking ideas from these two recipes. So I stuck the peppers and garlic into the toaster oven to roast. Then I sauteed some baby bella mushrooms in a pan.

GE GE

 

While those cooked, I opened a can of crushed tomatoes, and a can of tomato sauce.

GE

 

Those went into a sauce pan with some olive oil. Borrowing from the smittenkitchen recipe, I halved a small yellow onion and stuck it in the tomato sauce. Then I added pepper, salt, a bay leaf, oregano, and some red pepper flakes and turned the heat to low. By then the mushrooms were done, so I took them out of the pan and replaced them with the pound of ground venison.

GE

 

I seasoned that to taste with salt, pepper, oregano, and paprika. With the heat at med-low, I covered it, and moved back to the peppers and garlic.

GE

The garlic cloves I halved longwise and tossed right into the tomato sauce. I peeled the red peppers and cut them up a bit. Then they went into a smaller bowl with some olive oil and red wine. I introduced all three to my immersion blender, and pureed them until relatively smooth (a food processor would work just as well, but I don’t have one).

Forgive the shadows- I need to replace a couple bulbs in the kitchen fixture.

Forgive the shadows- I need to replace a couple bulbs in the kitchen fixture.

This is the part where two roads diverge in a yellow wood. Matt won’t eat vegetables  (hush, I know it’s tomato sauce, just go with it) or mushrooms of any kind (he calls them fungus and poison). I intend to put that there puree and the mushrooms from earlier into the sauce. Well, I dip out a little bit of the plain tomato sauce into its own pan to warm over a burner until the meat’s done. It’s easier to just give in on this one. Then I dump the red pepper puree and the mushrooms into the sauce. By now the meat’s done, too. So in it goes.

GEI seasoned mine up to taste- it got a healthy does of Parmesan, as well as a bit more salt and some lemon juice. I served it over regular, al dente spaghetti noodles. It could definitely have used some garlic bread, but I forgot to get any at the store, and by the time I figured out what I wanted, making bread from scratch wasn’t an option.

GE GE

 

I have plenty of left overs, too.

2 thoughts on “Wild Food: Roasted Red Pepper, Roasted Garlic Tomato Sauce With Venison

  1. Outstanding! Deerslayer loves roasted red bell peppers. While I;ve roasted and frozen red bell peppers and packaged them up in 2-cup measures, I’ve never thought to put them into a spaghetti sauce. Good show!

What do you think?

