Two Birds With One Stone (If only it were so easy!)

So, I got called off work on Tuesday evening. This meant basically a day of errand running- I made it for a real grocery trip for the first time in weeks, I got cat food and shampoo, a new garbage disposal at Menard’s to replace the one that jammed, oh, a year and a half ago or so, and I made a special trip to pick up apples (for both fresh eating and pie making) and unpasteurized cider from an amazing local orchard- so many varieties of apples. They also raise sheep- black Welsh mountain sheep, and they sell both their wool and meat. I nearly bought a rack of mutton, but it was a bit more than I wanted to spend just then. I did drive to the upper orchard and sheep pasture to pet them.  It made my day.

Getting the night off also meant being able to cook dinner. It was a rainy, misty day. Until late afternoon, it was a bit on the cool side, too. So, I decided dinner would be soup. Duck soup. I was going to make a Wild Food post about it, but soup is a pretty simple deal. Particularly broth soup. I even started it before seeing if my new cookbook had any insights for me. It did, but I’d already started the soup, it was too late.

I chuck everything in the pot at once. The book recommends doing the bones first, and then adding things in order of cook time, longest to shortest. Whoops.

I chuck everything in the pot at once. The book recommends doing the bones first, and then adding things in order of cook time, longest to shortest. Whoops.

It also says not to allow the stock to actually boil, so it's clear. Whoops.

It also says not to allow the stock to actually boil, so it’s clear. Whoops again.

I added the wild rice last, and added a slice of fried polenta for more heartiness.

I added the wild rice last, and added a slice of fried polenta for more heartiness.

I’ve made this soup two or three times before- it’s literally no different than, say, chicken noodle or chicken and rice. The broth just comes out darker, and I put a healthy dose of white wine in mine. I also have dessert- butternut squash pie.

So, on to that second bird- our plans re: this terrible, awful, no good very bad luck we’re having hunting. Basically, neither Matt nor I has had any kind of luck since the day we both missed. I’ve read here and there about some October lull in deer hunting, and I’d be willing to believe it. If it were not for the sheer amount of foot traffic this land gets. The deer more than likely get pushed up and back- up the hill and off the back and sides of the property. So. It’s a bit late to be scouting new hunting ground, as much as I might want to. We’re deciding to switch things up a bit, and begin hunting the wooded sections of the land. I’m pushing for hunting the oaks- they’re finally dropping their acorns, and the farmers have to be cutting their crops any day now. I’ll need to get a climbing stand.

In addition to trying to formulate a new plan, we’re trying to see when, if at all, deer are coming to the fields we currently hunt the edges of.  We’re up to five trail cams now, and we put some up over the weekend/Monday evening when I went out with Matt. Maybe we’ll get images, maybe we won’t. Matt plans to pick them up today. Then we’ll try to figure out what to do next.

On top of all that, we finally got our first frost last Sunday night. Most of the nights this week and weekend are forecast to be cool- probable patchy frost for most of them. The days are going to be in the low 50s. Up north will be colder. We’re hoping that this gets the ducks and geese moving- we aren’t even seeing Canada geese flying yet. We’re also hoping it gets the deer on their feet a bit more. But at least we’re within reasonable distance of the rut now.

What do you think?

