Wild Food: Seared Duck Breast.

I was unexpectedly called off work yesterday (thank heavens, golf season is beginning to wind down). So, I set out the duck breasts from the ducks Matt got on Saturday, intending to sear them. I’d read the post at Hunter Angler Gardener Cook a couple days before on how to pan-sear them.

Duck breasts, thawing.

Duck breasts, thawing.

I have three breasts here, because as I was butchering out the breasts, one of them just smelled… off. I did not feel good about eating that one at all, so I tossed it. These three would work just fine, since it’s only me and Matt.

Duck breasts, liberally salted.

Duck breasts, liberally salted.

I followed the steps to the letter. I used last weekend’s duck, because of the ones from up north, I only left the skins on two breasts. They were that badly damaged from shot.

SAMSUNG

The bits of skin on either end really do shrink right up immediately.

The bits of skin on either end really do shrink right up immediately.

My ducks were in the mid range, shading towards fairly fat. These were most likely resident ducks to the Madison area. They’d probably been eating a lot all summer and not moving all that much, never mind migrating several hundred miles on the first leg of their trip south.

The skin browned beautifully.

The skin browned beautifully.

I especially wanted to try this method because even on the grill or roasting in the oven, I hadn’t achieved that crispy skin yet. On a duck or a goose. I thought I’d been salting my birds well enough. Maybe I had, but I’d neglected to pat them dry, since up until now, they’d all had a brine or a flavoring rub on them. I won’t make that mistake again. The skin? I would make the leap to say it’s right up there with bacon. Maybe even better than bacon.

Medium rare duck, with a salty, crispy, savory skin.

Medium rare duck, with a salty, crispy, savory skin.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Wild Food: Seared Duck Breast.

What do you think?

