Buck Fever

I sat in my ground blind, thinking about how much warmer it was in this part of the state compared to Damn-Near-The-UP. I’d been sitting for maybe an hour, at the top of the hill, in the same spot as this time last week. I saw 3 deer coming out about 300 yards away, and I was silently kicking myself for picking the wrong spot, again. Still, I watched them graze down the hill from me, making note of where they came from, and where they went. Two does and a small buck. I still hoped they would graze their way up the hill towards me.

I took a second to put on my mesh face mask in case anything did decide to come out- I’m on the ground, and not in a full blind. My skin is fair as it is, and my white face and red hair would be a dead give away. I sat for a bit longer, enjoying the quiet- once opening weekend is over, the other hunters thin out quite a bit. We’d seen a middle-aged couple heading out for small game as we pulled up, but they told us they’d stick to the back of the property. I didn’t hear any shots from them all evening. I didn’t see any other people, either.

I saw two more deer over the next 45 minutes or so- one in the same spot as the first three, and another one on the other side of the field by herself. I was chalking that hunt up to bad luck, and thinking that I at least had seen something. I was looking at the cut line for those powerlines as they head down the eastern side of the hill, when out of the trees comes the little buck I’d seen earlier.

He was upwind of me, and I’d been sitting still. He wasn’t very big- a 4 pointer. His body was average sized, but this was the first buck I’d seen even close to me. He grazed and walked towards me, turning often to check behind him, or to scratch his head with his foot. I readied my bow, and managed to draw seated (much harder than I anticipated) when he turned to scratch. I held my draw, taking aim, and hoping he’d walk at least a little closer. I’m not the world’s greatest judge of distance, but I thought he was maybe 30 yards out. My bow’s sighted for twenty. When he took a few steps closer, I decided to take the shot.

My arrow whizzed, and hit the ground near his front feet. My heart had been pounding, and I felt it slowly start to tumble down to about knee level. He sniffed the arrow, and decided to keep eating. I then got the shakes. Furious with myself for missing, I was even angrier that I couldn’t get my silly body to stop trembling. He was still walking around, not noticing me, and I might have a chance at another shot. I got my second arrow on the string, but he stayed about 10 or 15 yards out of range. If it had been gun season, I would be telling you about cleaning and processing him. But bow season’s hard on purpose.

He stuck around until dark, just sort of tooling around. At one point, he was scratching the ground with his front hoof and snorting. I figured if he was doing any kind of territory marking, I didn’t want to scare him out and cause him not to come back to this spot, regardless of how accustomed to people these deer are. If my first buck has to be a little four pointer, I’m OK with that- this is public land, after all. Eventually, he ambled off down the hill and into the woods. I packed up my stand, recovered my arrow, and went to meet Matt.

Matt had been waiting for me, and wasn’t happy with me to say the least. My buck story made him a little less grumpy with me, but something was still bothering him. I hucked my pack into the truck, put my bow in its case, and went to sit down. But he told me now we had to go find his arrow. I asked him if he had at least misplaced it in a deer. He answered “I think so”. So, we pulled the spot light out of my pack, and set off to track a deer.

He said he’d shot and heard a hit, then she’d taken off at a dead sprint into the thick brush on the hillside he’d been sitting on. When another hunter had set up 50 yards from him, he’d heard her crashing around- unwounded deer do not crash.

We looked up and down the hill, circling as best we could in the thick, thick brush. We even got out some tracking spray containing Luminol (we picked it up last year on clearance at Gander). Nothing. No blood, no arrow. Matt was frustrated- he has yet to recover a deer during bow season. We cut the tracking short after looking for about 45 minutes. With nothing to go on in the dark, Matt was going to go back Monday afternoon.

Monday night, Matt texted me that they found the arrow. There was blood on it, but no deer. His hypothesis is that he hit the shoulder blade, and the arrow stuck for a while before falling out. Crummy night for the both of us.

SAMSUNG

9 thoughts on “Buck Fever

  1. forgive me for putting my own opinionated 2 cents in here.
    i don’t use mechanical heads for that very reason, extra damage at the cost of penetration is not a good idea.. heavy arrows, fixed non-mechanical broadhead, dual blade if less than 70lbs bow, triple blade if greater. i compiled a document over a few years that you guys would probably like to take a look at, it has a large section on momentum/penetration testing with various broadheads done by a team of scientist/hunters in africa. don’t want to put a link up publicly though – if you send me an email to droberts at davidproberts dot com i’ll reply back with the link.

    • I’ll do that once I get back from the gym this morning. I use the fixed broadheads my bow came with, but Matt had to purchase entirely new arrows this year- all of his were mismatched and damaged. With that came new broadheads. I don’t think he likes the ones he got- they use a little plastic band to hold them in the “closed” position, and that band breaks when the arrow strikes and pops open, and you need the band to hold it closed. Thus getting only a few shots, as they give you a small number of plastic bands. His sight has a factory defect that makes the 30 yard pin not align with the other two, so that’s probably why he hit the shoulder blade and not the vitals. I imagine he’ll pick a new sight up eventually, but without anywhere close by to easily sight the bows in, it may be a bit yet.

  2. i do all my own arrow trimming using a tiny cutting saw dremel attachment. i like to have the broadhead screws 1 inch past the rest to keep arrow flex at an absolute minimum. i put a little bar soap on the broadhead threads as well to prevent any vibration from letting them rattle in flight. theres also quite a bit of marketing out there that cater to the ‘need for speed’, but its all just hype. a lot of hunters like them due to the decreased margin of error from a more forgiving drop curve, but they have much less penetration from less mass. on deer shoulder blade tests i’ve done with 4 shoulder blades stacked together a G5 montec 3 blade 125 grain on a 13 grain per inch heavy carbon fiber arrow shaft blows clean through all 4. A lot of the fast arrows (6 to 8 grain per inch) loaded out there with their kinetic energy and FPS advertised on the side of the box are misleading, because neither energy nor FPS equate to momentum, and momentum + mechanical advantage (ie 2 or 3 bladed fixed head instead of a 4 blade or mechanical) equals penetration. the higher velocity an arrow travels the more exponential the resistance is on impact as well. the most lethal arrow is a slow moving spear, you just have to find a balance between weight and acceptable drop rate for the power behind your draw.

    bleh, sorry for the long comment. once i get going on archery stuff its hard for me to stop.

  3. Pingback: Buying Land Is Looking Better and Better. | Play Outdoors

  4. Pingback: Two Birds With One Stone (If only it were so easy!) | Play Outdoors

  5. Pingback: Same Old, Same Old. | Play Outdoors

  6. Pingback: The “Fail” Tag Is Really A Lot Bigger That I’d Like. | Hunt/Fish/Play

What do you think?

