Wild Booze: Carbonating

I’d been checking on my homebrew off and on for the last couple weeks. It had been stubbornly bubbling along, until sometime around Tuesday. I checked in on it again, and there were finally no bubbles. I decided to give it a few days, to make absolutely certain fermentation had stopped, but also until I had a day off.

By now you know the drill.

By now you know the drill.

So, sanitize everything you plan to use, etc, etc. Since I’m carbonating this stuff, I opted to use eight 16 ounce swing top bottles. Had I just carbonated it in another gallon jug, I was concerned it would go flat, because I definitely can’t drink that much wine that fast. So. once they had been sanitized, I added the priming sugar tablets.

I used four, which according to the package, would have produced medium carbonation in a 12 ounce bottle. Here it should be light-medium.

I used four, which according to the package, would have produced medium carbonation in a 12 ounce bottle. Here it should be light-medium.

With that done, it was time to siphon. I got yet another healthy tasting of my wine doing this, and it’s good. On the strong side, too. I also stained my leg and the lower kitchen cabinets. And two towels.

Filling bottles is hard.

Filling bottles is hard.

So, once they were filled, I wiped down the mouth of the bottle and clamped the swing top shut. I swished each bottle a little bit to get the sugar tablets dissolved a bit more easily.

Not-yet-sealed bottles and the sediment in the jug.

Not-yet-sealed bottles and the sediment in the jug.

Capped good and tight.

Capped good and tight.

It should take two to three weeks for them to carbonate properly. And each bottle should be roughly 2 glasses of wine. Once I get a chance to drink it, I can report back on its potency, since I wasn’t able to get specific gravity measures before I fermented it. That taste I got tonight was a pretty strong one, though.

See the earlier parts of this process here:

Gone Pickin’

Starting the ferment on the pulp

Straining 

First racking

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Wild Booze: Carbonating

  1. Only illegal if you’re caught. Small batch it or look to see if your local wine store carries it. It will only be 50 proof but it’s good. Brewed for many years. My faves were a Cherry Kriek (Belgian Beer). But with SOOOO many kraft companies starting up, well I got lazy.

    • Brewing at home is legal so long as you’re not selling it. You can even give it as gifts. Carter did away with restrictions on home brewing in late 70s. Distilling is another story.

What do you think?

