A Beautiful Saturday in the Northwoods

I was a bit short on time this morning to finish that post. However, the rest of the weekend went pretty well.

When I woke up, I took my camera to get a look around at the spot. In the brief phone call I had with Matt, he said he got the best spot there. He wasn’t wrong.

She towed beautifully, he said.

She towed beautifully, he said.

Fire pit, and the glow of sunlight on the lake.

Fire pit, and the glow of sunlight on the lake.

The dogs were super excited for a morning swim.

The dogs were super excited for a morning swim.

Ada Lake, 50 feet from our site.

Ada Lake, 50 feet from our site.

The only time Matt cooks for me is camp breakfast.

The only time Matt cooks for me is camp breakfast.

We fished most of the day on Saturday. In the morning, Matt took me to the lake behind the house he grew up in, and we caught a lot of bluegills, a couple perch, some tiny baby bass, and some green bluegills. We would barely get our bobbers in the water before a little ‘gill was running with it. The only ones we kept were ones that died on the hook. I got very badly sunburned on my legs. It’s still swollen.

The road to the canoe launch, which we missed the first time

The road to the canoe launch, which we missed the first time

Matt in the canoe.

Matt in the canoe.

A bad angle on the first green bluegill.

A bad angle on the first green bluegill.

The tiniest perch.

The tiniest perch.

As the day got warmer, the bite died down. We packed up and headed out. We dropped off the fish we kept at his dad’s house, chatted with his grandpa a bit, and went back to camp. After lunch, a swim in the cold spring water of the lake, and a nap, we were ready for more fishing.

At that point, I was beyond frustrated with my camera’s read error when I tried to make room on the memory card. It needs to be replaced very badly. No photos of the evening fishing, sadly. It was lots more little tiny ‘gills. Matt managed to reel in three good sized bluegills, though. He kept them to attempt to taxidermy them himself. I imagine that will be another series all its own. On my last cast of the night, I hooked into a nice largemouth. It was 12 inches, which isn’t too shabby. The limit up north is 18 inches, though. Back in the water it went.

The glow of both campfire and last light.

The glow of both campfire and last light.

We paddled back from the fishing spot, and made our dinner. Matt’s family stopped by to chat, as we were leaving early in the morning. Matt had to be back by 11:30.  We chatted and hashed out some ideas for a trip to replace the one we were originally taking to Texas. So far, the one sticking out is to head up to Door County and play on Lake Michigan or the Apostle Islands on Lake Superior. Possibly hire a salmon charter. It would be in August or September.

Anyhow, we woke up around 6 to pack up camp, hitch the camper up, and hit the road. We left with no major issues- I just separated from Matt to drop off the cell phone charger and thank you to the clerk at that gas station. Even with that and a second pitstop farther south, I rolled in maybe 10 minutes behind Matt. He went off to work for a bit, and I unpacked the camper. Being able to leave so much stuff in it makes the whole process so much easier. By now, the laundry and dishes from the trip are done, and all the dirt is swept out of it. But I’m ready to go again.

 

4 thoughts on “A Beautiful Saturday in the Northwoods

  1. I’m glad you made it there safely – it’s a scary feeling to run your cell battery down when you’re away from home. The trailer looks awesome! You guys did such a great job. Looks like you had a great place to spend your weekend.

    • Thanks Rebecca! Yeah, I was freaking out a little bit as I got closer to the exit to BFE. That gas station clerk was my hero. I hope she enjoyed her coffee/beer/rootbeer float/whatever. And the camper was even pretty comfy to sleep in.

    • Thank you! We’re really happy with how it turned out. People ask us about it all the time, and older folks we meet in passing just love it. For a lot of people, it reminds them of their first camper.

What do you think?

