Wild Food: Finally Got Some Venison on the Grill

Last night, I cooked dinner for the first time in a month or more. I work nights, and we are pretty busy on the weekends. Luckily, we’re just two young folks, and we can get by on cold sandwiches or whatever else we find.

But somehow, it got to be late May, and I still hadn’t grilled any venison. Wild meat requires a kiss of the flame from time to time, I figure. So, I rubbed some of my Wisconsin Strip Steaks with salt, pepper, olive oil, and garlic and let them rest while I got some yard work done and started the grill.

Once the coals were ready and the potatoes had been on for a while, I slapped the steaks onto the hot grate. As usual, mine were intended to be more rare than Matt’s. His got to be medium well, and mine about medium rare. I would have preferred a bit more rare, but charcoal doesn’t have  a dial to control the heat as much. They got some really nice grill marks on them, and the smoke flavor was great with the venison.

DSCF5232 DSCF5233

Those shots are a bit too rare, even for me. This is the finished products.

DSCF5238

2 thoughts on “Wild Food: Finally Got Some Venison on the Grill

What do you think?

