Wild Food: Venison and Barley

This is just a quick one. Dinner tonight was venison steak, barley, potatoes, and asparagus. The potatoes were baked in the oven, I sauteed the asparagus in a little reserved bacon grease, and I did the venison steaks up in my cast iron like you would a boneless beef steak. There are directions out there for cooking barley, but it’s pretty much like any other grain- 2 parts water to one part grain. I added in a small pat of butter, some garlic, marjoram, salt, pepper, and a cube of chicken bouillon.

I was very hungry.

This is my plate, with blue-rare meat. Matt’s was medium.

 

We went out to look at that boat this afternoon, so all I had to eat was a couple granola bars, and a protein shake after I got back from the gym around 11. I was a member of the clean plate club tonight.

One thought on “Wild Food: Venison and Barley

  1. Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are
    a group of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the
    same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work
    on. You have done a outstanding job!

What do you think?

