Wild Food: Venison Asparagus Rolls

I came to WordPress after my daily Gmail-Facebook-News check to make a quick Wild Food post. Then the Daily Prompt distracted me.

Since we had such a slow weekend here, I had the chance to set something out to thaw, and cook dinner. I grabbed the first thing I touched in the freezer. I got lucky- it was one of the pieces of venison haunch I had butterflied out.

I had to take it at this weird angle to not cast my own shadow over it.

I had to take it at this weird angle to not cast my own shadow over it.

I cut it into sections, as pictured, and rubbed it down with olive oil, crushed garlic, salt, and pepper. Then, I grabbed some asparagus from the fridge. I trimmed it and gave it a really quick steam, till it had just turned bright green. I picked the three pieces of venison I wanted for myself (the thick ones that would stay rare), and rolled them around three spears of asparagus apiece.

Skewered

Skewered

Now, Matt won’t touch vegetables, and he doesn’t eat rare meat. So, he got his own dinner, which is pretty typical, of venison cooked medium in the skillet and scalloped potatoes.

I seared these in my cast iron skillet, and then finished them off in the oven. The asparagus was wilted tender, and they were about medium-rare, since they were such thin slices of meat. I had them with an oven roasted sweet potato. If I would have had some balsamic vinegar, I would have made a sauce for them (inspired by something on Pinterest), but I didn’t. They were plenty juicy on their own, in my opinion.

Extreme possibly un-appetizing close up? Steam included!

Extreme possibly un-appetizing close up? Steam included!

2 thoughts on “Wild Food: Venison Asparagus Rolls

  1. Looks great!

    This reminds me of an appetizer I used to make when I worked at a restaurant. We wrapped thin slices of leftover prime rib around asparagus with a cream cheese-horseradish sauce in the middle.

    • Thank you! I’ve seen appetizers like that. These may have looked better if the meat was thinner, but since it was just me, presentation didn’t matter quite as much 😛

What do you think?

