Wild Food: Venison Roast + Some New Toys

Yesterday while grumbling and muttering curses under my breath attempting to use Windows Movie Maker for the first time, it dawned on me that I hadn’t made a Wild Food post in a while. That’s a series I’d like to keep rolling if at all possible. It’s not that I haven’t cooked, it’s that I forgot to take pictures. Before I get to that, though, a quick toybox dispatch.

On Monday, I bought my first flies. I had to pause just now to get new pictures, as the ones I took Monday night were all out of focus. In all, we got 3 different sizes.

Big ones- a frog and a baitfish

Big ones- a frog and a baitfish

Medium ones that look like bug larvae

Medium ones that look like bug larvae

Some teeny-weeny ones that look like winged insects, egg sacs, and more bug larvae

Some teeny-weeny ones that look like winged insects, egg sacs, and more bug larvae

If this weekend goes according to plan, we’re going to be stupid busy. The Root River is down in Racine, which Google Maps tells me is about two hours away, via Milwaukee. So, that will be a day trip on its own. And then Sunday we’re scouting more for turkey, and Matt also wants to attempt to call in coyote. I’m not too sure I’m ready to have even more hides in the garage, and predator hunting really weirds me out, but there’s really no stopping him when he’s fixated on something. Then, there’s an organized get together with Matt’s coworkers and their significant others/kids Sunday evening. Sometime in there we should also try to get the busted tired off the boat trailer since the lakes are really opening up now. Our favorite catfishing hole is almost entirely ice free. I’m really itching to get out and fish, even if it’s nothing but panfish until May 4th.

Anyway- This roast. I took some inspiration from The Deerslayer’s Wife (again, thanks lady!). I didn’t wrap mine in bacon, as the only bacon we have is pretty sweet honey maple smoked stuff. I don’t think it would mesh well with venison and garlic. The cast of characters:

Salt, pepper, garlic, olive oil, and some Costco Cab. Not pictured: Marjoram

Salt, pepper, garlic, olive oil, and some Costco Cab. Not pictured: Marjoram

I mixed up the salt, pepper, crushed garlic, and liquids to marinate the roast in for a little bit. Then, I filled the cavity with the minced garlic and some dried marjoram, and trussed it with cotton butcher’s twine. I drizzled the marinade over it.

DSCF4972

 

I let it sit while I prepared the veggies- red potatoes for Matt, a sweet potato and roasted broccoli for me. I let everything sit then, until Matt showed up. I would have set to cooking it all then, except he had some work-related errands to run, and wanted me to go with him. I agreed, and out the door we went. Before we left, I stuck the potatoes in the oven at 250. We didn’t get back to the house until well after 8pm. I threw the roast in at about 350, and took out the potatoes so we would have something to eat, at least. The roast wasn’t done until 9:30, and I didn’t want to eat that late. Internal temp was about 130-135 so it’s definitely a nice medium rare. I plan to cut into it today for some gourmet venison sandwiches for lunch after my workout.

Finished roast.

Finished roast.

I also apologize for all the theme switching going on lately. The original theme felt super clunky and not clean enough for me, but when I switched to an intermediate one, there wasn’t a post scroll and I truly didn’t like how it showed entire posts on the front page. After some searching, I landed on this one, and I really like it.

I would think to keep an eye out for a Toybox Dispatch soon- there was a snafu with Matt’s paycheck this week, it’s 5 days late and he’s got a lot of Shopping Energy all pent up.  Half of his errands last night were showing me the things he wants to buy.

 

9 thoughts on “Wild Food: Venison Roast + Some New Toys

  1. Thanks for the mention! I’ve always made my venison roast with thick-cut maple bacon. It works very well. The sweetness isn’t overpowering. I’ve been wanting to try pepper bacon. What do ya think? I also have a venison sandwich blog in the works that has a recipe that’s way yummy! “Venison/Mushroom Bolillos”.

    • I think pepper bacon would work great! Our honey maple bacon tastes more than a little like pancake syrup. Not bad for breakfast, but I’d hate to ruin my venison 😛 I think the mushroom/venison sandwiches sound heavenly. I’m hoping the weather figures itself out soon so I can try to go morel mushroom hunting, because I just know those would be amazing with venison. We need much warmer nights than we’ve been having, and there’s stubborn snow still sticking around.

    • Thanks! I think I figured out the basics of Movie Maker, but if you look at the turkey calling video, it’s very rough. And not all of it is from the crappy camera 😛

    • I’ve been ready for Spring since mid-February, but that’s a normal thing for a Midwesterner, I think. Ice fishing was such a bust for us that all I wanted was to be able to put in at a launch and go catch something without drilling through two feet of ice. When we go this weekend, it’ll be for steelhead, and for salmon or maybe lakers. Fingers crossed we get something. I’ve never fly fished, or seen a salmon or trout in person that wasn’t on a plate.

    • Thank you! The roast turned out pretty good, even cold the next day on sandwiches. Originally I worried nobody would care what some Midwestern girl had to say about hunting and fishing since both activities are waning in popularity, but the response has been good 🙂

  2. Pingback: I Shall Call it Franken Roast | Play Outdoors

What do you think?

