Mostly-wild fish cakes

Dinner in the Play Outdoors household is usually a fairly late affair. Matt works pretty late most nights, so even when I finish cooking at 8pm, I still have to make and save a plate, and then eat by myself. This is a plus when I forget to set anything out until 3 or 4 pm, but when it’s something that reheats poorly, it requires a little extra planning.

Tonight’s dinner involved the white bass he caught yesterday.

Poorly cut white bass fillets

The fillets were pretty small, and he made some bad cuts while he was cleaning them. Because of this, I wasn’t going to make just the fillets. When I was a kid, one of my favorite ways that my mom stretched food was salmon patties. I’ve since made similar fish cakes out of left over tilapia and mahi mahi, so I went with that idea. Even with bread crumb filler, though, it would be a small batch, so I beefed it up a bit with a tilapia fillet from my freezer.

Seasoned and ready to go

This tilapia fillet is under the two bass fillets, and everything’s liberally seasoned with Old Bay, some minced garlic, and a dash of olive oil. I tossed that in the oven in a foil packet to bake with a butternut squash I was roasting for myself, and a potato I was baking for Matt. Halfway through this process, I realized I was out of crackers and bread crumbs, so I diced up the heels on a loaf of bread, tossed them in olive oil, and baked them till crispy.

Home made toasted bread crumbs

I crushed these up in a ziploc baggie with my rolling pin. When the fish was done, I chucked it in a bowl with the bread crumbs and a couple blats of mayo (my mayo bottle is running low, it was maybe two tablespoons). I let this mixture cool a bit before I added the egg so I didn’t curdle it. Once chilled, I mixed in the egg.

pre-egg

pre-egg

post-egg

post-egg

Like fish pancakes

While I mixed all that up, I heated some olive oil in my pan. Then I made them into small patties and fried them on each side.

It doesn’t take long- just enough to make the outsides crispy. This was my dinner:

quick, light dinner

White bass tilapia cakes and butternut squash puree. Maybe if I had a better camera, it would look more delicious. But that’s something that will have to wait.

In other news, my squash had sprouted on the inside, which is great news for my garden, even in the starts are about a month early, and it’s snowing outside.

sprouted squash seeds

2 thoughts on “Mostly-wild fish cakes

    • Thank you, and thanks for stopping by! I try to cook as much as I can with the results of our hunting and fishing. Keep an eye out for venison, duck, and goose.

What do you think?

